Make Security a Habit

Posted on April 5, 2012. Filed under: Steve Peplinski |

As recently as 10 years ago, banks invested hundreds of thousands of dollars in room sized machines to process customers’ checks.  Today, we spend about a thousand dollars for a scanner that’s the size of a loaf of bread.  We take a picture of the check and we don’t worry about the paper original after that except to make sure that it gets destroyed.  Over the years we’ve replaced lots of big expensive equipment with tiny high tech substitutes.  I had sent several of these scanners to a repair depot.  When I got an email titled “Your UPS shipment has arrived”, I thought nothing of opening it and clicking on the link.  I knew I shouldn’t have done it when my Anti-Virus program popped up to tell me that it had quarantined some mal-ware. 

I knew better.  I’m always telling people “Don’t click on links in email – that’s how you get a virus”.  And I’m pretty paranoid about my privacy.  Still, they got past my first line of defense that time.  That’s why it’s so important to have a “layered security system”.  I got tricked, and I clicked without even thinking.  I remain safe and uninfected because my anti-virus program is up to date and is monitoring every file I try to open.

Every computer user needs to be vigilant these days!   But it’s not all that difficult to keep your machine virus free and speedy.

  • Be careful what you click on!  Emails that appear to be from UPS, Fed-Ex, the FDIC,  NACHA are likely to be phishing expeditions
  • Install anti-virus software and keep it up to date. 
  • Download and install software updates for your operating systems and applications as they become available.

Security is never an end point that you can reach and be done with.  It is always an ongoing process.  Keep your self well informed and make security a habit. You manage your auto accident risk by obeying traffic laws, making sure your car is in good working order, and purchasing insurance.  A few simple habits can help you manage your cyber security effectively also.

Make a Comment

What do you think?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

